This guide contains research resources for Latin American studies. Under the "Help" tab, "Research Process" provides a step-by-step guide to research, and "Refworks" helps you organize and cite your research. If you have questions, see "How Do I?" and "Contact."
The library catalog allows you to search many, but not all, resources at once. On the results page, use filters on the left to narrow results by format, date, etc.
Reference sources provide factual information (e.g., dictionaries and statistical yearbooks), an overview of a topic (e.g, encyclopedias), or a guide to in-depth research on a topic (e.g., bibliographies and indices). These sources can be useful for developing your topic. As you read reference sources, ask yourself, "What do I already know," "What do I need to know?" and "What search terms should I use in my research?"
Most of the library's databases contain Latin American resources since it is a broad subject. Most of the databases listed below are broad, and all will include Latin American studies resources. In addition to these databases, consider visiting specific subject guides for your topic. For example, if you are researching education in Latin America, visit the Education Guide. Most of the databases listed there will contain Latin American studies resources.
DVDs: Search the catalog and limit format to DVD video. DVDs are located on the first floor to the left of the stairs. Latin American Studies DVDs can be found throughout the DVD collection under various call numbers. DVDs on general Latin American history are found within call number range F1201-3799.
