Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to Develop Your Idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of these reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, and what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Is your project art-related? Try the "Find Art-Related Articles and Biographies" on the bottom of the page.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Academic Video Online
Contains more than 67,000 streaming videos, encompassing multiple disciplines. Titles are selected for their educational value, and video types include documentaries, feature films, demonstrations, etc.
How to Use This Guide
This guide contains suggested resources and how-to tutorials to guide you through your research. On this main page, you'll find some resources that we suggest you use for Latin American Studies research. If you're just starting your research, read "Need to Develop Your Idea" to the left. The remaining boxes on this guide will help you continue your research.
Need some help formatting your citations? Select the "RefWorks" tab at the top of the page to learn how to organize your research and cite your sources.
Feeling lost? Select the "Research Process" tab at the top of the page to access an in-depth tutorial on all the steps of the research process.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
Literary analysis of major authors, periods, genres, and literary works, written by experts.
Civil Rights & Social Justice
This database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still.
EBSCOhost Spanish Link
The Spanish version of EBSCOhost databases.
Humanities International Complete
Journals, books, and other published sources with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Open Society Justice Initiative
The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
Find Data and Statistics
Pew Hispanic Center
A nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latino's growing impact on the nation.
Find Art-Related Articles and Biographies
Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art
Must sign up for a free account. Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art digital archive was created by the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. It provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. Countries featured include Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and Latino USA.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Presents the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Authored mostly by museum curators, as well as conservators, scientists, and educators, the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and an index.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)