Latin American Studies: Primary Sources

Primary sources related to Latin American, Spain, and Portugal.

A cooperative of various organizations providing access with Caribbean cultural and historical research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Collections include newspapers, government documents, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral histories, artifacts, and more.

Documents relating to 20th and 21st-century art in Latin American, the Caribbean, and US Latino communities. Maintained by the International Center for the Arts of the Americas at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston.

Translated transcripts of documents originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. From the University of Maryland Libraries.

Primary sources from the University of New Hampshire.

Primary sources and historic periodicals. Maintained by University of California, Los Angeles Library and Arcadia.

Rare pamphlets primarly from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia, and Mexico, published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. Maintained by Harvard Library.

Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. Maintained by Brown University's Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies.

Guides on a variety of topics. Resources include primary sources and websites.

From the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials.

Primary sources

Primary sources from the National Library of Argentina.

Primary sources from the The National Digital Library of Brazil.

Primary sources.

Primary sources and articles about Chile. Produced by the National Library of Chile and the National Cultural Heritage Service.

Primary sources about Columbia. A partnership between non-profit Neogranadina and the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Primary sources.

Primary sources on 17th to 20th-century Colombian history and culture. Maintained by Vanderbilt University.

Primary sources.

Primary sources documenting Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present.

Articles and primary sources about Dominican Republic history. Maintained by City College of New York.

Primary sources about El Salvador from various partner institutions.

Primary sources about Mexico.

Photographic prints and postcards of the Mexican Revolution, ca. 1910-1917. Maintained by Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University.

Primary sources about Mexican history, particularly the period period 1865-1935. Maintained by Southern Methodist University's DeGolyer Library.

Primary sources.

Primary sources related to the Puerto Rican diaspora. Maintained by City University of New York.

Primary sources, books, and periodicals.

Primary sources from the National Library of Spain

During the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) children were evacuated from the war zones to colonies in the war-free areas of Spain and in the south of France. Drawings by these children were collected from throughout Spain in a concerted effort of the Spanish Board of Education and the Carnegie Institute of Spain.
This digital collection is maintained by Columbia University Libraries.

Primary sources about the Spanish civil war. Maintained by the University of San Diego, California.

Primary sources about Spain from a variety of memory institutions. Maintained by the Ministry of Culture and Sport of Spain.

Houses European art dating from the 12th century to the early 20th century. Includes a large collection of Spanish masterpieces.

Houses European art dating from the 12th century to the early 20th century. Includes a large collection of Spanish masterpieces.

Audio programs from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" from the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982. Programs include interviews, music, and information programs related to the Mexican American community.

An oral history project from 2012-2016 which documents Latina experiences in Wisconsin.

Historical periodical publications. Maintained by the University of the Republic of Uruguay.