Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need To Develop Your Idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, and what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Provides an overview and an explanation of the major topics in the field of educational psychology, including topics in categories such as human learning and development (across the life span), motivation, measurement and statistics, and curriculum and teaching.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Academic Video Online
Contains more than 67,000 streaming videos, encompassing multiple disciplines. Titles are selected for their educational value, and video types include documentaries, feature films, demonstrations, etc.
How To Use This Guide
This guide contains suggested resources and how-to tutorials to guide you through your research. On this main page, you'll find some resources that we suggest you use for education research. If you're just starting your research, read "Need to Develop Your Idea" to the left. The remaining boxes on this guide will help you continue your research. For information on our "Curriculum Collection" and "edTPA", click tabs at the top.
Need some help formatting your citations? Select the "RefWorks" tab at the top of the page to learn how to organize your research and cite your sources.
Feeling lost? Select the "Research Process" tab at the top of the page to access an in-depth tutorial on all the steps of the research process.
Education Research Complete
Covers early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, including multilingual education, health education, and testing. Includes books and conference papers.
Educational database indexing journals and documents. Includes full-text links to government education documents and EBSCOhost journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Full-text children’s magazines and pamphlets. Designed for the elementary school student.
Middle Search Plus
Full-text access to general topics appropriate for middle and junior high school students.
Indexes articles, book chapters, and dissertations on behavioral and psychological topics. Includes social work. Coverage is from 1887.
Peer-reviewed journal published by Viterbo. Covers philosophy for children, teaching and learning, liberation pedagogy, Vygotskian psychology, cognitive science, and more.
Analytic Teaching and Philosophical Praxis
Peer-reviewed journal published by Viterbo. Covers philosophical and ethical implications of education.
Find Education Reports and Statistics
Find Teaching Resources
National Education Association 10 Best STEM Resources
Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics Resources for preK-12.
Provides thousands of classroom-ready, curriculum-targeted digital resources. Resources are aligned to Common Core and national standards and include videos and interactives, as well as audio, documents, and in-depth lesson plans. You can browse by standards, grade level, subject area, and special collections. You can also favorite and share resources with your class and colleagues.
Teaching Books provides children's and young adult literature multimedia resources. Includes original in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, and guides to thousands of titles.