LibGuides: Research Process: 4b. Citation Style

Citation Style

4b. Usually an instructor will guide you toward a particular citation style to use in your project. The three most common choices are MLA, APA, and Chicago. Although each style has differences, they work toward the same goal: giving credit to an author for their original work and ideas.

You will want to pay attention to citing your resources within your project and generating a bibliography for the end of your project. For in-text citations, please look at the examples and links below.
Earlier in the research process, you may have used your RefWorks account. You may now use your citations to help you generate a bibliography. Please note, RefWorks gathers its data for bibliographies from the original database you used, and if the information was entered incorrectly then, it will still be incorrect in RefWorks. Always double-check your bibliographies against a handbook to check for accuracy.

Citation Resources

For help with your citations, please consider contacting either the library or the Academic Resource Center (ARC). You may book an appointment by visiting their website.

Citation Guides

These print versions of popular citation guides are always available from the library's reference collection.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: RR LB 2369 .C453 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017
The 17th edition has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.
EasyWriter by Andrea A. Lunsford
Call Number: REF PE 1408 .L86 E17 2016
ISBN: 9781319050764
Publication Date: 2016
When you're writing and researching, you want advice that you can find when you need it-and trust when you find it. EasyWriter gives you the help you need in a format that's easy to use.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by); Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by)
Call Number: REF LB 2369 .T87 2018
ISBN: 9780226494425
Publication Date: 2018
Writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. The Manual-remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed. by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: RR LB 2369 .M53 G68 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
The MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association, the authority on MLA documentation style. Widely adopted in high schools, colleges, and publishing houses, the MLA Handbook treats every aspect of research writing, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper.
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: RR LB 2369 .P835 2020
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines.

MLA Handbook Online

In addition to the 9th ed. of the MLA handbook in print, we also subscribe to the online database. Check it out!

MLA Handbook Plus
Includes access to the full contents of the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook, as well as MLA Guides to Digital Literacy and Undergraduate Research. It also includes a video course that teaches the principles of MLA documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.