Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Use this Guide
In this guide you will find resources that will help you perform research on substance abuse, addiction, rehabilitation, and criminal justice interventions for drug related crime. Below you'll find databases that we suggest you use to find journal articles and resources for finding and evaluating testing instruments.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, an what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Find journal articles
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The most authoritative and comprehensive research database for nursing and allied health. Limited full-text.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
400+ streaming videos. Ideal for counseling, nursing, psychology, and social work students, videos highlight symptoms of mental health disorders, allowing students to practice making diagnoses. Counseling in Therapy in Video: Volumes I – IV are available via Academic Video Online.
Criminal Justice Database
National and international database of criminal justice journals.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Information on approximately 15,000 measurement instruments in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences. The full text of the instruments are not included.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative information on biomedical research for clinical sciences, veterinary medicine, and healthcare professions.
Consumer-oriented health information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Medline Plus (Spanish)
Consumer-oriented health information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine in Spanish.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Over 250 leading full-text trade and scholarly publications in nursing and allied health.
Full-text psychology research journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and related organizations. 1985 to present.
Indexes articles, book chapters, and dissertations on behavioral and psychological topics. Includes social work. Coverage is from 1887.
Full-text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
U.S. National Library of Medicine
Links to medical, chemical, and toxicology databases.
Find testing instruments
American Psychological Association
The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States.
APA Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct
The American Psychological Association's Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct, adopted by the APA Council of Representatives in August 2002, became effective in June 2003. Council amended the Ethics Code in 2010 and 2017. The code provides guidance for psychologists in all of their professional roles.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
Social Psychology Network
Devoted to psychological research and teaching, this site provides information on topics such as prejudice and racism, the psychology of gender, persuasion and propaganda, and much more. It also offers information on graduate programs, organizations, conferences, and online tools like psychology blogs, podcasts, and newsfeeds.