Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for background information about your topic.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling
More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs. Location in library: REF BF 636.54 .A23 E74 2009
Encyclopedia of Counseling
"The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling."--Pubr description.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with thousands of full-text periodicals, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for over a thousand journals.
APA PsycArticles is a database of full text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. For a current list of the journals included in the database see https://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/psycarticles/coverage.
APA PsycInfo is the most complete interdisciplinary database of abstracts, citations, and indexing of psychology and behavioral and social sciences journal articles, books and dissertations back to 1872. The only direct links to full text in this database will be to journals we subscribe to through APA PsycArticles, namely most American Psychological Association journals. Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed, and the methodology of studies can be limited to clinical trials, literature reviews, qualitative or quantitative studies, among other choices. A current list of journals covered in APA PsycInfo can be found at https://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/psycinfo/coverage.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling & Therapy in Video provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. this series contains ore than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, as well as full text for thousands of journals, and includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Full-text of open-access dissertations and theses.
Full text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine, including geography, urban studies and planning, politics, public administration and international relations, psychology and counseling, religion, social policy, gender and cultural studies, and research methods and evaluation.
Master of Science in Mental Health Counseling
Viterbo University's Master of Science in Mental Health Counseling degree is accredited by The Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs. Our program is designed to meet state requirements for licensure as mental health counselors in the states of Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Iowa.
Ed.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision
The educational doctorate degree in counselor education and supervision program at Viterbo University is intended to prepare graduates to work as counselors, educators, supervisors, and program leaders. With an integrative behavioral healthcare focus, the doctoral program in counselor education and supervision seeks to meet the growing need for highly qualified counselor leaders—advanced counseling practitioners, educators, and supervisors.
My SSP (My Student Support Program)
My SSP (My Student Support Program) is a 24/7 resource for our undergraduate and international students to utilize when they are in crisis and need additional support when Counseling Services campus offices are closed. Students will be able to talk with a licensed mental health counselor at any time or anywhere in their native language. Students and faculty who are studying abroad will also have access to this service on their trips. There is also an amazing amount of information on physical, emotional, and mental care from articles, podcasts, assessments, and more.