Skip to Main Content
#2 Find Books, DVDs, Music, Articles & More in the Catalog
#3 Locate & Use Databases
- What is a database? A library database is essentially an electronic collection of published works. Databases have an advantage over search engines (such as Google) in that the information has already been verified for accuracy. It is easy to limit and refine searches; for example, to scholarly articles only.
- Use databases to access journal articles, newspapers, streaming videos, eBooks, dissertations, and more.
- Some databases focus on specific disciplines, while others are multidisciplinary. Databases can be sorted by subject. Read the description to learn more about each database.
- Article databases may include only the citation, the full-text of an article, or a combination of both.
- The full list of databases can be found by clicking on the arrow next to Research on the library homepage, or at this link: https://www.viterbo.edu/library/databases
#4 Request Resources from Other Libraries
- If the library doesn't have an item, request to borrow it from another library through Interlibrary Loan. Find out more about interlibrary loan at this link.
- If you don't see the book or the full-text of the articles you want, most databases and catalogs will have a "Request through Interlibrary Loan" link which will take you to the request form. You can also request items through your My Library Account by clicking on "Requests", and then
- This Interlibrary Loan Tutorial will walk you through the different ways of creating a request.
#5 Access Your Library & Interlibrary Loan Account
- Use your Viterbo email to log-in to your "My Library Account" to see what items you have checked out. Your library account includes Viterbo items and items ordered through Interlibrary Loan. You can also renew items through your account. If you have questions about renewals please contact the library at firstname.lastname@example.org or 608-796-3269.
#6 Print, Copy, Scan, & Connect to WiFi
- There are several printers and scanners available in the library. For locations and price information, see the Print, Scan, and Copy webpage.
- Students receive a printing allotment each semester. If you need to put more money into your printing account, please visit the library's main desk.
- To print from a mobile device or non-university owned computer, log in to PaperCut.
#7 Connect to Library Resources Off-Campus
- Current students, faculty and staff are able to access most of the library's electronic resources from off-campus. The library uses a service called EZProxy to recognize you as an authorized user. Use your Viterbo email information when prompted to log-in to resources.
- If you are having difficulty accessing resources, you may want to try a different browser. Sometimes a security system is blocking access -- many workplaces and schools have firewalls in place that could block the library's site.
- If you are still having access issues, please email the library at email@example.com, or IIT at firstname.lastname@example.org.
#8 Manage Your Citations
- RefWorks is a citation management tool that can store, format, and cite resources. Log in at https://refworks.proquest.com or from the library homepage, under the Research tab.
- Use your Viterbo email address to create an account. Your account will be available as long as you are a student at Viterbo.
- Learn more about using RefWorks on this guide: https://proquest.libguides.com/refworks
#9 Borrow Items with your Viterbo ID
- Use your Viterbo ID to check out items from the Main Desk, located to the left as you come into the library.
- The library has laptops, video cameras, audio recorders, headphones, iPads, and more available for checkout to students and employees. View available equipment at this link.
- Normal loan periods (subject to change):
- Audio visual items -- 1 week
- Books (students) -- 1 month
- Books (employees) -- 3 months
- Career collection -- 1 month
- Equipment -- 24 hours
- Periodicals -- No checkout
- Reference books -- 3 days
- Reserves -- Set by instructor
- All items are due at the end of each semester
- Full checkout policies may be found at this link.
#10 Use Library Spaces & Reserve a Room
- Library spaces are available for both quiet, individual study, and for group collaborative study.
- Study rooms may be reserved by using this link to sign-up, or scanning the QR code on the study room's door. You may reserve a room for 3 hours per day and up to thirty days in advance. If you have questions, contact the Main Desk at 608-796-3269 or email@example.com.
- To see the list of available study spaces, see the Study Space Reservation webpage.