Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Library Orientation: Welcome!

Video tutorials and guides for using the online library.

How to Use This Guide

Welcome to the Todd Wehr Memorial Library at Viterbo University! This guide serves as an introduction to the many resources the library offers to the Viterbo community.  It is broken down into sections with each tab focusing on a different aspect of using the library and finding resources.  If you have questions about this guide, or anything else about the library, contact a librarian.  

Always Updating

We strive to keep our guides up-to-date, but if you notice something that doesn't look right, please let us know!

Jodi Hilleshiem jchilleshiem@viterbo.edu Instruction & Electronic Resources

Library FAQ

Feeling a little lost? Check this list of frequently asked questions to see if you can find your way. If you don't find an answer here, contact a librarian.

Searching for Materials

Use the Library's Catalog to search for materials.  Remember, ebooks, evideos, and articles are all available off-campus.  

Start with a Subject Guide that will recommend various resources available for you to use.

Use a Database to search for scholarly resources, including journal articles.  These are available from the library's homepage.  Click on "Research", and then "Databases".

Try Credo to gather background information from encyclopedias and dictionaries.  This is helpful to find basic statistics, facts, and overviews.  Credo is available from the library's homepage.  Click on "Research", and then "Databases".  

Access over 70,000 videos in the Academic Video Online collection.  All of these videos are searchable from the library's catalog.  You may also access this collection from the library's homepage.  Click on "Research", and then "Databases".  

Search the Viterbo University Archives, study student research projects, and access the entire student newspaper online.  You may access this collection from the library's homepage.  Click on "Archives".  

Troubleshooting

Are you having trouble accessing the library's databases?  Here are some things to try:

  • Make sure you are using your Viterbo Account username and password (for information on changing your password see https://viterbo.revelationhelpdesk.com/Default.aspx).
  • Try using a different browser, such as Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer.
  • Try logging into a different library database; for example, if you are having trouble logging into Academic Search Complete, try a different database, such as JSTOR.  If you can log in to JSTOR, it could be that Academic Search Complete is temporarily down for maintenance.
  • You may want to clear your browser history, cache, and cookies.
  • Make sure you are logging into the database through the library's page.
  • Are there security systems or a firewall that could be blocking access?  Many workplaces and schools have firewalls in place that could block the library's site.

If you are still having access issues, please email the library at reference@viterbo.edu, or IIT at helpdesk@viterbo.edu.  

Chat With Us!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Ask a Librarian

Reach us at the Viterbo Library by phone, email or chat.

Main Desk: 608-796-3269
Reference Desk: 608-796-3270

Main Desk Email: library2@viterbo.edu
Reference Email: reference@viterbo.edu