Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Answers to Common Questions
This guide is designed to aid you in finding quality information on the web. At times, the information you need cannot be found in our subscription databases - things like statisitcs, government resources and publications, state and federal law, and even encyclopedias are freely available to you, but nearly obscured in a haze of questionable websites.
- You will find multidisciplinary and subject-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries on this page, as well as geographical and biographical resources.
- Under the Statistics tab, you will find general statistics resources, health statistics, population statistics and demographics, and public opinion polls and survey resources.
- Under the Law and Government tab, you will find U.S. government and U.S. law resources.
- Under the Wisconsin Information tab, you will find resources related to Wisconsin including state government resources and local resources.
Dictionaries, Thesauri, Encyclopedias
World's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Dictionary of Wisconsin History
People, places, things, and events related to Wisconsin history.
Dunhaime Law Dictionary
Legal information and definitions written by lawyers not only for the general public, but also for other lawyers and justice system professionals.
Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion.
People and Places
CIA World Fact Book
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Library of Congress American Memory Map Collections
The Library of Congress has digitized and made available maps, atlases, and other cartographic resources from their collection.
UT-Austin's Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
The University of Texas at Austin has digitized over 11,000 maps of their 250,000+ collection. Use this site to find historic and current maps from around the world.