Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, an what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Official Church Documents
How to Use this Guide
This guide contains suggested resources and how-to tutorials to guide you through your research. On this main page you'll find some databases and websites that we suggest you use for religious studies and theology research.
Find academic journal articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion along with online collection of major religion and theology journals. Less than 50% full-text.
Humanities International Complete
Journals, books, and other published sources with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Database Searching Strategies
View the Database Searching: A Guide for Students of Religious Studies video in this section to learn some database searching strategies. Select the "Evaluating Religious Publications" tab at the top of the page to access additional instructional material that will help you select appropriate academic resources for your research projects.
Find Public Opinion and Census Data