|
|
Popular Press Publications |
Academic/Scholarly Publications |
|||
|
Bible Study Books and Materials |
Spirituality and Religious Nonfiction |
Reference Materials |
Books |
Journal Articles |
|
|
Appearance |
Colorful, eye-catching graphics on cover
Chapters may be organized into lessons |
Colorful, eye-catching graphics on cover |
May or may not have an eye-catching cover
Very large, multivolume texts
|
May or may not have an eye-catching cover
Contains a detailed bibliography and notes throughout the text |
Likely contains no graphics (except for illustrative content)
Abstract, bibliography and notes throughout the text
|
|
Audience |
General public; believers of the faith
Often targeted at specific groups (women, mothers, young adults, men)
|
General public; believers of the faith
May target people enduring particular life battles (sickness, loss, addiction)
|
Academics, researchers, scholars, college students
Believers and nonbelievers |
Academics, researchers, scholars, college students
Believers and nonbelievers |
Academics, researchers, scholars, college students
Believers and nonbelievers |
|
Content and Purpose |
Guide to reading and understanding the Bible
Some contain short lessons/sessions
Some contain activities and reflective questions
|
Self-help material; spiritual guidance and comfort
Some may analyze the Bible or the meaning of particular passages
Written to entertain and inform
Presents perspective and analysis based on faith, rather than research
|
Commentary: contains analyses of biblical scripture
Bible Dictionary: contains definition and location of word in all passages of the Bible
Encyclopedia: provides background information |
Analysis of a religious text, a particular religious figure, a particular religious practice, etc.
Historical or general coverage
Presents analysis based on research, rather than faith |
Very narrow analysis of a religious figure, practice, behavior, etc.
Presents analysis based on research, rather than faith |
|
Author |
Christian writers, practitioners of the faith |
Often written by people who hold positions of authority in a religious denomination (pastors, monks, rabbis, priests, nuns) |
Academics, researchers, scholars.
Editor with contributing authors
|
Academics, researchers, scholars
Published by university presses, Wiley, Routledge, W.W. Norton & Co., Sage |
Academics, researchers, scholars |
|
Example |
The Father’s Plan: A Bible Study for Dads
|
When Bad Things Happen to Good People (Rabbi Harold Kushner)
Angels (Billy Graham)
Paul: A Man of Grace and Grit (Charles R. Swindoll)
|
The Jerome Biblical Commentary
|
The Catholic Labyrinth: Power, Apathy, and a Passion for Reform in the American Church (Peter McDonough)
The Refiner’s Fire: The Making of Mormon Cosmology, 1644-1844 (John L. Brooke) |
|
