Catholic Research and Resource Guide

Saint Francis of Assisi (1182-1226):

Without doubt Francis is the most beloved saint in all of Christian history. Known as Il Poverello (“the Poor One”), he founded the Franciscan Order and became author of the most famous early Italian poem, the “Canticle of the Sun.” Tradition calls him the “seraphic saint” and the patron of animals and nature. Pope Gregory IX (r. 1227-41) canonized him in 1229. His feast day is October 4. (from the Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Catholicism)

Use Credo Reference as a way to learn about St. Francis of Assisi. Credo provides background information from encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Learn more about St. Francis by doing the following:

• Browse for print books or e-books about Saint Francis
• Watch videos
• Read research articles from the ATLA Database about Saint Francis or Franciscan topics

Saint Clare of Assisi (1194-1253):

Inspired by the preaching of St. Francis of Assisi, she ran away from home to join his community of friars at the Portiuncula. According to legend, her family wanted to take her back by force, but Clare's dedication to holiness and poverty inspired the friars to accept her resolution. With the assistance of St. Francis, she became the founder of the Poor Clares, a Franciscan order of women. (from Dictionary of World Monasticism)

Use Credo Reference as a way to learn about St. Clare of Assisi. Credo provides background information from encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Learn more about Saint Clare:

• Browse for print books or e-books about Saint Clare
• Watch videos
• Read research articles from the ATLA Database about Saint Francis or Franciscan topics