Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, an what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Official source for 2010 and 2000 Census Data.
An online library of cases, multimedia, and reading material for business education.
NAICS Industry Codes
Codes used by the Federal government in classifying businesses into industry groups. Codes can be used to search Census data and articles in business databases like Business Source Complete
Launch La Crosse
LAUNCH LA CROSSE connects aspiring, emerging and established businesses in La Crosse County to a network of entrepreneurial resource providers who can help with entrepreneurial training, business planning, capital resources, grants, financing, market research, site selection and access to networking and mentors.
How to use this guide
Welcome to the Business Resources Research Guide. Here you will find general information about locating resources on Business at Viterbo Library and beyond. You will also find how-to tutorials to guide you through your research and databases we suggest you use to find academic journal articles and information. Note the different tabs at the top of the page. Click on the appropriate tab for more information.
If you are still developing your topic, consider finding inspiration in the resources provided in the "Need to develop your idea?" box.
Click the "How do I...?" tab at the top to access general how-to handouts and videos to help you research at the Viterbo University library.
Articles and Databases
Information in business can be in articles, case studies, industry financials, or market research reports; you can find these kinds of resources in the tools linked below.
Business Source Complete
Coverage of important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Credo Reference Business Sources
Use Credo to get encyclopedia and dictionary entries to learn more about your topic. This link leads to business-specific topic pages in Credo.
RAB Instant Background
RAB (Radio Advertising Bureau) Instant background provides marketing and demographic stats from over 200 businesses and industries. To Access: Click the "Sign In" tab and enter user name: firstname.lastname@example.org and password: ViterboLib
Covers business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. Includes academic journals, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Regional Business News
Full-text coverage of business journals, newspapers, and newswires from U.S. metropolitan and rural areas.
Business Statistical Sources
Schedule an appointment to work with a librarian one-on-one. You have the choice of scheduling a face-to-face, telephone or virtual consultation.
Viterbo Library Databases
If you're off-campus, you may be prompted to enter your Viterbo username and password before accessing a database. Don’t include @viterbo.edu in the username.