Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Art

Research resources for students taking art courses

Need To Develop Your Idea?

If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:

  • What do I already know?
  • What do I need to know?

As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of these reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, and what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.

Browsing for Books

Browsing the physical collection can be an effective way to find ideas for research or inspiration for your art.  At the end of each bookshelf, you'll see a call number range.  The first set of letters refers to one of the following subclasses:

N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing; Design; Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts (Includes ceramics)
NX Arts in general
TR Photography

View a more refined list for N-NX, and one for TR (Photography).

You can also browse hundreds of full text eBooks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  Refine the results list by using facets on the left.

How to Use This Guide

This guide contains suggested resources and how-to tutorials to guide you through your research. On this main page, you'll find some resources that we suggest you use for art research.  If you're just starting your research, read "Need to Develop Your Idea?" to the left.  The remaining boxes on this guide will help you continue your research.

Need some help formatting your citations? Select the "RefWorks" tab at the top of the page to learn how to organize your research and cite your sources.

Feeling lost? Select the "Research Process" tab at the top of the page to access an in-depth tutorial on all the steps of the research process.

Find Articles

Find Artist Biographies

Find Images

Find Images: Bridgeman Images in Credo Reference

Bridgeman Images collections are housed in the Credo Reference database.  You can either search individual collections which are linked below, or you can search multiple collections at once following these instructions:

  • In the upper-right, go to Advanced Search.
  • Select "Subject or Titles."
  • Select "Arts and Leisure."
  • Select "Art and Art History."
  • Select the collections you want.
  • Enter your search term(s).

To conduct a new search, you must return to the advanced search.

Find Videos

Librarian

Profile Photo
Jason Skoog
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Murphy Center 128
608-796-3262

Find Teaching Resources

Find Artist Best Practices for Fair Use