Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, and what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Credo Reference is a searchable resource containing a number of Women's Studies titles: The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English ; Encyclopedia of Women and Gender ; Notable American Women: 1607-1950 ; Notable American Women: Completing the Twentieth Century ; Notable American Women: The Modern Period ; and Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films: 1895-1930.
How to use this guide
Welcome to the Women's Studies Research Guide. Finding appropriate research materials can be difficult in an area as interdisciplinary as Women's Studies; this site brings together a variety of resources available at Viterbo Library and online in order to facilitate your research. You will also find how-to tutorials to guide you through your research and databases we suggest you use to find academic journal articles and information. Note the different tabs at the top of the page. Click on the appropriate tab for more information.
If you are still developing your topic, consider finding inspiration in the resources provided in the "Need to develop your idea?" box.
Click the "How do I...?" tab at the top to access general how-to handouts and videos to help you research at the Viterbo University library.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Humanities International Complete
Journals, books, and other published sources with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, 5,000 topic overviews, 5 million periodical articles, nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs, and thousands of podcasts on today's most contentious social issues.
Full-text psychology research journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and related organizations. 1985 to present.
Hi! E-mail me to make an appointment for help on research projects, term papers, and any other questions you may have.