Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, an what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
How to use this guide
Welcome to the Sociology Resources Research Guide. Here you will find general information about locating resources on sociology at the Viterbo Library and beyond. You will also find how-to tutorials to guide you through your research and databases we suggest you use to find academic journal articles and information. Note the different tabs at the top of the page. Click on the appropriate tab for more information.
If you are still developing your topic, consider finding inspiration in the resources provided in the "Need to develop your idea?" box.
Click the "How do I...?" tab at the top to access general how-to handouts and videos to help you research at the Viterbo University library.
Databases related to Sociology
Full-text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Criminal Justice Database
National and international database of criminal justice journals.
Educational database indexing journals and documents. Includes full-text links to government education documents and EBSCOhost journals.
Business Source Complete
Coverage of important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Introduction to Social Research
American Sociological Association
Website for the national organization for sociologists, which aims to articulate policy and implement programs likely to have an impact for sociology.
Internet Resources for Statistical Information
Hi! E-mail me to make an appointment for help on research projects, term papers, and any other questions you may have.