Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Use the databases below to find background material to build your topic or idea into a research question or thesis.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an open access online encyclopedia that's maintained by experts. Find a full list of subject editors/contributors here: http://plato.stanford.edu/board.html.
How to use this guide
In this guide you'll find research tutorials and resources we suggest you use for researching in philosophy. If you are still developing your topic, consider finding inspiration in the resources provided in the "Need to develop your idea?" box.
Click the "How do I...?" tab at the top to access general how-to handouts and videos to help you research at the Viterbo University library.
Find Scholarly Sources (Journal Articles and Book Chapters)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion along with online collection of major religion and theology journals. Less than 50% full-text.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
Literary analysis of major authors, periods, genres, and literary works, written by experts.
Humanities International Complete
Journals, books, and other published sources with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, 5,000 topic overviews, 5 million periodical articles, nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs, and thousands of podcasts on today's most contentious social issues.
Index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Includes journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Full-text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
EthicShare is a project started by the University of Minnesota Libraries to compile research, discussions, and current news media in a searchable collection. The bibliographic database contains citations to many research articles, book chapters and conference proceedings; some resources have immediate, free full text copies available, for the rest use ILLiad, Viterbo's free interlibrary loan service.
Find journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics covering 1974-2009. To access full text, request via ILLiad, Viterbo's free interlibrary loan service.
GenEthx: Genetics and Ethics Database
This collection contains bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, biobanks, etc. To access full text, request via ILLiad, Viterbo's free interlibrary loan service.