Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, and what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
BIOL/CHEM 112: Science Success
This document contains the instructions for the CHEM/BIOL 112: Science Success library assignment.
Find information about substances
Consists of deposited bioactivity data and descriptions of bioactivity assays used to screen the chemical substances contained in the PubChem Substance database, including descriptions of the conditions and the readouts (bioactivity levels) specific to the screening procedure.
The PubChem Compound Database contains validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups.
The PubChem Substance Database contains descriptions of samples, from a variety of sources, and links to biological screening results that are available in PubChem BioAssay. If the chemical contents of a sample are known, the description includes links to PubChem Compound.
How to use this guide
This guide contains suggested resources and how-to tutorials to guide you through your research in the natural sciences and mathematics disciplines. On this main page, you'll find databases that we suggest you use to find academic journal articles and information on bioassays, compounds, and substances. If you are still developing your topic, consider finding inspiration in the resources provided in the "Need to develop your idea?" box.
Click the "How do I...?" tab at the top to access general how-to handouts and videos to help you research at the Viterbo University library.
Find academic journal articles
Academic Search Complete
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Open access to 845,870 e-prints in computer science, economics, electrical engineering and systems science, mathematics, physics, qualitative biology, qualitative finance, and statistics.
Groups biomedical literature, small molecules, and sequence data in terms of biological relationships.
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) Collections
Aggregates interdisciplinary content from PLOS journals, focusing both on scientific topics as well as the topic of publishing itself
Full-text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Full-text journals for life and health sciences from 1995-present. Includes abstracts for other scientific information.
Abstracts-only research tool for CAS databases from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. First time users need to register for a new account from an on-campus computer.
AGRICOLA - NAL Catalog
AGRICOLA, the National Agricultural Library catalog, contains citations for journal articles with abstracts, books, serials, reports, audiovisual materials, etc covering agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative information on biomedical research for clinical sciences, veterinary medicine, and healthcare professions.
Indexes biomedical research from MEDLINE on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical & life sciences. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.