Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Gerontology
Full-text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The most authoritative and comprehensive research database for nursing and allied health. Limited full-text.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Over 250 leading full-text trade and scholarly publications in nursing and allied health.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Provides independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Includes research reviews and methods, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and clinical trials.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Full-text psychology research journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and related organizations. 1985 to present.
Indexes articles, book chapters, and dissertations on behavioral and psychological topics. Includes social work. Coverage is from 1887.
U.S. National Library of Medicine
Links to medical, chemical, and toxicology databases.
Reference Sources for Gerontology
Websites for Gerontology
Administration on Aging (AOA)
Part of HHS, the AOA develops polices, plans, and programs that promote the welfare of the elderly. It also supports a nationwide aging network that provides services to the elderly.
American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
AARP is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to addressing the needs and interests of persons 50 and older. The AARP site features sections on current legislation and elections, in add as well as policy and research.
AARP’s AgeSource Worldwide
AgeSource Worldwide describes clearinghouses, databases, libraries, directories, statistical resources, bibliographies and reading lists, texts, and Web "metasites" focusing on aging and allied subjects.
Family Caregiver Alliance
Founded in 1977, Family Caregiver Alliance was the first community-based nonprofit organization in the country to address the needs of families and friends providing long-term care at home.
Gerontological Society of America
Non-profit professional organization with more than 5000 members in the field of aging. Provides researchers, educators, practitioners, and policy makers with opportunities to understand, advance, integrate, and use basic and applied research on aging.
Institute of Gerontology (Wayne State University)
The IOG seeks to increase knowledge about aging, improve the practice of gerontology, and influence public policy. Includes GeroWeb, an online resource for researchers, educators, practitioners, and others interested in aging and older individuals.
US Census Bureau—Age Data
Features census data about the older (55+) and elderly (65+) populations on the national, state, and county levels, including surveys, estimates, and future projections.