Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need To Develop Your Idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of these reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, and what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
How To Use This Guide
This guide contains suggested resources and how-to tutorials to guide you through your research. On this main page, you'll find some resources that we suggest you use for sport science, management, and leadership research. If you're just starting your research, read "Need to Develop Your Idea" to the left. The remaining boxes on this guide will help you continue your research.
Need some help formatting your citations? Select the "RefWorks" tab at the top of the page to learn how to organize your research and cite your sources.
Feeling lost? Select the "Research Process" tab at the top of the page to access an in-depth tutorial on all the steps of the research process.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The most authoritative and comprehensive research database for nursing and allied health. Limited full-text.
Provides independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Includes research reviews and methods, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and clinical trials.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative information on biomedical research for clinical sciences, veterinary medicine, and healthcare professions.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Over 250 leading full-text trade and scholarly publications in nursing and allied health.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) Collections
Aggregates interdisciplinary content from PLOS journals, focusing both on scientific topics as well as the topic of publishing itself
Indexes biomedical research from MEDLINE on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical & life sciences. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Full-text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Full-text journals for life and health sciences from 1995-present. Includes abstracts for other scientific information.
The Sport Journal
Peer-reviewed journal covering sports management, sports coaching, sports studies, sports medicine, and sports fitness and health,
Academic Video Online
Contains more than 67,000 streaming videos, encompassing multiple disciplines. Titles are selected for their educational value, and video types include documentaries, feature films, demonstrations, etc.