By The People Transcription Project

Help FamilySearch from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints index over 100 projects. FamilySearch indexing is a volunteer transcription effort that makes valuable genealogical records freely searchable online. Since FamilySearch indexing began in 2006, this unprecedented crowdsourcing effort has produced more than one billion searchable records. Hundreds of thousands of volunteer indexers have participated from around the world. Through this selfless effort, millions of people worldwide have found information and discovered stories about their ancestors.

You can contribute to the National Archives Catalog by tagging, transcribing and adding comments to our records, making them more accessible and searchable. Join us! Every contribution you make helps unlock history.

In celebration of the 250th anniversary of American independence, the National Archives and the National Park Service are collaborating on a special project to transcribe Case Files of Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Applications Based on Revolutionary War Service, ca. 1800 - ca. 1912. These Revolutionary War Pension Files consist of applications and other records pertaining to claims for pensions and bounty land warrants.
These records may contain valuable details about Revolutionary War veterans and their families, such as rank, unit, period of service, age, residence, date and place of marriage, and date and place of death of spouse. Also within these records, you may find copies of marriage or other family records, information pertaining to military activities or details about soldier’s lives, along with letters, diaries, or family trees.

Help The New York Public Library improve a unique collection! We’re transcribing our historical restaurant menus, dish by dish, so that they can be searched by what people were eating back in the day. It’s a big job so we need your help!

Transcribe gives you the opportunity to make the Canadian Royal BC Museum’s extensive collections more accessible, all from the comfort of your home! The transcriptions you create will become searchable data, facilitating learning and research around the world. Whether you choose to transcribe one page, one hundred pages, or just browse our collections, you’re helping us share the stories that matter.

Become a Smithsonian Digital Volunteer and help us make historical documents and biodiversity data more accessible. Join more than 60,000 "volunpeers" to add more to the total of almost 1 million pages of field notes, diaries, ledgers, logbooks, currency proof sheets, photo albums, manuscripts, biodiversity specimens labels, and historic audio recordings, that have been collaboratively transcribed and reviewed since June 2013

Use From the Page transcribing software to transcribe projects from Stanford. The Stanford University Archives is the official repository for records of Stanford University, including its founders, administration, faculty, students, and alumni.