Anti-Racism Resources : Other Resources

Viterbo University has centered diversity and inclusion in its values, mission, and practice. We believe that for a university community to thrive, it must be diverse and inclusive of identities, experiences, and ideas. We also understand that social justice and equity must first be present for diversity and inclusion to exist and flourish.

Upcoming and recordings of past campus events.

Resources put together by the Viterbo Diversity and Inclusion Center.

The Social Justice and Equity Committee is comprised of faculty, administrators, and employees. The Breaking Barriers student club reports out (as a sub-committee) to support social justice and equity initiatives on the Viterbo campus from a strong student perspective.

International Student Services provides services to international students, including help with adjusting to the United States and college life, and understanding and compliance with federal immigration regulations.

A place where students, employees, and family members can report crimes, worrisome behaviors, harassment, sexual violence or assault, hate/bias discrimination, violations of the Viterbo University Student Code of Conduct, and other issues and concerns. Viterbo University is committed to providing a safe, educational environment for all members of our community, and by speaking up, you're helping make that happen.

Information from Hein Online about their Civil Rights & Social Justice database and how to use it.

A select bibliography of scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on the history of structural racism in the United States and how the country can realize anti-racist reform. The Library does not subscribe to Project MUSE, so the links in the bibliography will not lead to downloadable content. You CAN, however, download the bibliography and search for titles of interest in the library catalog to see if we own them or have access to them in one of our databases.

"The goal is to facilitate growth for white folks to become allies, and eventually accomplices for anti-racist work. These resources have been ordered in an attempt to make them more accessible."

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture resources for talking about race

A podcast from a multi-racial, multi-generational team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting.

A history podcast from Gimlet Media, where we go back to the time our divisions turned into a war, and bring you stories left out of the official history.

"In August of 1619, a ship carrying more than 20 enslaved Africans arrived in the English colony of Virginia. America was not yet America, but this was the moment it began." Hosted by recent Pulitzer Prize winner Nikole Hannah-Jones, the 1619 audio series from The New York Times chronicles how black people have been central to building American democracy, music, wealth and more.

Just what is going on with white people? Police shootings of unarmed African Americans. Acts of domestic terrorism by white supremacists. The renewed embrace of raw, undisguised white-identity politics. Unending racial inequity in schools, housing, criminal justice, and hiring. Some of this feels new, but in truth it’s an old story. Why? Where did the notion of “whiteness” come from? What does it mean? What is whiteness for?

An audio documentary from The Atlantic about the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, Floodlines is told from the perspective of four New Orleanians still living with the consequences of governmental neglect. As COVID-19 disproportionately infects and kills Americans of color, the story feels especially relevant. "As a person of color, you always have it in the back of your mind that the government really doesn't care about you," said self-described Katrina overcomer Alice Craft-Kerney.

Hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw, a leading critical race theorist who coined the term "intersectionality," this podcast from The African American Policy Forum brings the academic term to life. Each episode brings together lively political organizers, journalists and writers. This recent episode on COVID-19 in prisons and other areas of confinement is a must-listen.

Every week at Throughline, NPR journalists Rund Abdelfatah and Ramtin Arablouei "go back in time to understand the present." To understand the history of systemic racism in America, we recommend "American Police," "Mass Incarceration" and "Milliken v. Bradley."

Podcasts alone won’t fix the undeniable racism, inequality, and injustice that Black Americans face, but they can deepen our understanding of the oppressive systems at work and our role in abolishing them today and every day. Below are 24 podcasts that help you confront anti-Black racism head on. This is by no means an exhaustive list — in fact, think of it as your starter kit to being a more informed ally.

October 29, 2020 episode of On Being with Krista Tippett: "The U.S. election will be over soon but this year has surfaced deep human challenges that remain our callings — and possibilities for growth — for the foreseeable future. So this week and next, we’re taking the long view — first with journalist John Biewen, on the stories of our families and hometowns, what it means to be human, and what it means to be white. This conversation between Krista and John starts simply — tracing the racial story of our time through the story of a single life. It’s an exercise each of us can do. And it is a step toward a more whole and humane world, starting with ourselves."

June 1, 2020 CNN article by Alicia Lee and Sara Sidner.

Video from a Library of Congress symposium about the arrival of the first recorded Africans to English North America.

Publication from The New York Times Magazine.

PBS NewsHour program.

A digital collection from the Wisconsin Historical Society providing access to over 40,000 pages of official records of organizations, personal papers of movement leaders, letters, racist propaganda, diaries, images, newsletters and more.

From Open Yale Courses; recorded in 2010. The purpose of this course is to examine the African American experience in the United States from 1863 to the present. Prominent themes include the end of the Civil War and the beginning of Reconstruction; African Americans’ urbanization experiences; the development of the modern civil rights movement and its aftermath; and the thought and leadership of Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, W.E.B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Martin Luther King Jr., and Malcolm X.

Warning: Some of the lectures in this course contain graphic content and/or adult language that some users may find disturbing.

More than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration.

History.com article by Erin Blakemore.

Primary sources from the Digital Public Library of America.

Hear the story of the Japanese American incarceration experience from those who lived it, and find thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials from immigration to the WWII incarceration and its aftermath.

Primary source collections exploring topics in African American history, literature, and culture from the Digital Public Library of America.

Primary sources from the Digital Public Library of America

Explore or reconstruct the lives of individuals who were enslaved, owned slaves, or participated in the historical trade.

The Wisconsin Historical Society has one of the richest collections of Civil Rights movement records in the nation, which includes more than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964.

Washington Post Opinion piece by Marie Arana, August 9, 2019.

6 Black museums join forces to commemorate the 155th anniversary of Juneteenth. #blkfreedom

Article by Adrian De Leon republished from The Conversation by the PBS NewsHour under a Creative Commons license. See https://theconversation.com/the-long-history-of-us-racism-against-asian-americans-from-yellow-peril-to-model-minority-to-the-chinese-virus-135793 for the original article.

Article by Connie Hassett-Walker from TheConversation.com.

Information from Hein Online about their Slavery in American and the World database and how to use it.

The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) was the only national civil rights organization led by young people. Organized in 1960 and mentored by the legendary Black organizer, Ella Baker, SNCC activists became full-time organizers, working with community leaders to build local grassroots organizations in the Deep South.

Publication of the Council on American-Islamic Relations

By Michael Harriot of The Root.

The Trail of Tears was a series of forced relocations of approximately 60,000 Native Americans in the United States from their ancestral homelands in the Southeastern United States, to areas to the west of the Mississippi River that had been designated as Indian Territory between 1830 and 1850.See also https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trail_of_Tears.

Partnership between the La Crosse Public Library Archives & Local History Department and Hear, Here to create a tour featuring recorded stories that give examples of anti-Black racism and Black organization in La Crosse.

In November 1967 Martin Luther King Jr. delivered the Massey lectures on CBC Radio. King's title was "Conscience for Change." In the lectures, he talked about race relations, the war in Vietnam, youth and social action and non-violence as a tactic for social change.