Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need to develop your idea?
If you are just starting your research, you may need to develop your topic further. Ask yourself:
- What do I already know?
- What do I need to know?
As you consider these questions, take a look at a few of our reference resources for general, background information about your topic. The information you find in these resources will help you determine what you need to know, what search terms or keywords to use, an what, exactly, it is that you hope to discover through your research.
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
How to Use this Guide
This guide contains suggested resources and how-to tutorials to guide you through your research. On this main page you'll find databases that we suggest you use to find articles about current topics in biology and evolution, websites we suggest you use to find ___. Click the "How do I...?" tab at the top to access general how-to handouts and videos to help you research at the Viterbo University library.
Need some help formatting your citations? Select the "RefWorks" tab at the top of the page to learn how to organize your research and cite your sources.
Feeling lost? Select the "Research Process" tab at the top of the page to access an in-depth tutorial on all the steps of the research process.
Peer-reviewed journal collections in bioscience, ecological, and environmental research. Full text for 2 of the 3 collections; abstracts for 39%.
Groups biomedical literature, small molecules, and sequence data in terms of biological relationships.
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) Collections
Aggregates interdisciplinary content from PLOS journals, focusing both on scientific topics as well as the topic of publishing itself
Full-text collection of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Full-text journals for life and health sciences from 1995-present. Includes abstracts for other scientific information.
Abstracts-only research tool for CAS databases from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. First time users need to register for a new account from an on-campus computer.
Provides integrated access to biological systems and their component genes, proteins, and small molecules. Searches will link to PubMed articles and other related literature in the NCBI Entrez database.