Arts Management: Books

"Based on years of research as well as interviews conducted with Circle in the Square's major contributing artists, this book records the entire history of this distinguished theatre from its nightclub origins to its current status as a Tony Award-winning Broadway institution. Over the course of seven decades, Circle in the Square theatre profoundly changed ideas of what American theatre could be. Founded by Theodore Mann and José Quintero in an abandoned Off-Broadway nightclub just after WWII, it was a catalyst for the Off-Broadway movement. The building had a unique arena-shaped performance space that became Circle in the Square theatre, New York's first Off-Broadway arena stage and currently Broadway's only arena stage. The theatre was precedent-setting in many other regards, including operating as a non-profit, contracting with trade unions, establishing a school, and serving as a home for blacklisted artists. It sparked a resurgence of interest in playwright Eugene O'Neill's canon, and was famous for landmark revivals and American premieres of his plays. The theatre also fostered the careers of such luminaries as Geraldine Page, Colleen Dewhurst, George C. Scott, Jason Robards, James Earl Jones, Cecily Tyson, Dustin Hoffman, Irene Papas, Alan Arkin, Philip Bosco, Al Pacino, Amy Irving, Pamela Payton-Wright, Vanessa Redgrave, Julie Christie, John Malkovich, Lynn Redgrave, and Annette Bening."-Provided by publisher"-- Provided by publisher.

"Behind the scenes of New York City's Great White Way, virtuosos of stagecraft have built the scenery, costumes, lights, and other components of theatrical productions for more than a hundred years. But like a good magician who refuses to reveal secrets, they have left few clues about their work. Blue-Collar Broadway recovers the history of those people and the neighborhood in which their undersung labor occurred. Timothy R. White begins his history of the theater industry with the dispersed pre-Broadway era, when components such as costumes, lights, and scenery were built and stored nationwide. Subsequently, the majority of backstage operations and storage were consolidated in New York City during what is now known as the golden age of musical theater. Toward the latter half of the twentieth century, decentralization and deindustrialization brought the emergence of nationally distributed regional theaters and performing arts centers. The resulting collapse of New York's theater craft economy rocked the theater district, leaving abandoned buildings and criminal activity in place of studios and workshops. But new technologies ushered in a new age of tourism and business for the area. The Broadway we know today is a global destination and a glittering showroom for vetted products. Featuring case studies of iconic productions such as Oklahoma! (1943) and Evita (1979), and an exploration of the craftwork of radio, television, and film production around Times Square, Blue-Collar Broadway tells a rich story of the history of craft and industry in American theater nationwide. In addition, White examines the role of theater in urban deindustrialization and in the revival of downtowns throughout the Sunbelt."--Jacket.

From the Wall Street Journal's opera critic, a wide-ranging narrative history of how and why the New York City Opera went bankrupt--and what it means for the future of the arts.-- Amazon.com.

"Beyond the cliches of country and city, understanding the differences in history, programming, economic impact, staffing, board development, marketing, fundraising, community engagement, and pursuit of diversity, equity, and inclusion in relation to their rural setting can help an arts manager be ready to adapt and succeed in different regions"-- Provided by publisher.

"An oral history by the best-selling co-author of Those Guys Have All the Fun chronicles the revolutionary role of the forefront Hollywood talent agency through the stories of its influence on major film, television, sports, music and business ventures throughout the past half century, "--NoveList.

In this comprehensive history of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, longtime Juilliard president Joseph Polisi guides us through the complex convergence of the worlds of politics, finance, and the performing arts throughout the years of the Center's history, including the roles played by Robert Moses, John D. Rockefeller 3rd, Leonard Bernstein, William Schuman, Elia Kazan, Joseph Papp, Alice Tully, Beverly Sills, and many others. Polisi's book explores the social and political environment during the Center's history, reflecting the growth and evolution of the performing arts in America, from its post-World War II roots to the present day of global interaction. The history of the birth and growth of this unique institution is a story of determination, economic acumen, political machinations, artistic innovations, and above all the strong belief that the arts are at the center of the fabric of American society and that they should be supported and embraced by all citizens.

"In this book David Andrew Snider provides a playbook for anyone interested in navigating the arts and arts management in this new era. Through clear lessons, relevant case studies, and a series of fun, interactive activities, the author shares core principles of arts management and how to adapt and innovate in these extraordinary times"-- Provided by publisher.The book provides core principles of arts management and how to adapt and innovate in this new era.

A How-To Guide to effective customer service for Theatre House Managers and Patron Services Supervisors and Staff. Step by step instructions for planning, hiring, training and managing staff, volunteers and facilities to bring a happy audience into and out of a theatre performance, plus a collection of stories about what can and will happen while you do.

"First published in 1997, Standing Room Only has long been considered the marketing bible for theatre organizations and was the collaborative effort of two professors from Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Business, consistently one of the top-ranked business schools in the nation, Standing Room Only combined practical advice for creating a strategic marketing program and maintaining a successful performing arts organization with innovative examples from real theatre organizations around the nation were harnessing the marketing tools at their disposal to achieving rewarding benefits. Its lessons have been proven to be internationally applicable and easily adaptable to the organization type (theatre, opera, ballet, etc.). In this revised edition, Bernstein will bring the work up to the digital age, cutting the concepts that are no longer as viable in today's market while providing much needed guidance for navigating the possibilities of the internet. From online ticketing options to marketing options in social and mobile media, The new edition provides the framework to effortlessly transition into the online market, along with revealing the innovative ideas other theatres have already successfully integrated into their marketing plans, including the Joffrey Ballet's use of Groupon to expand their outreach and effectively work their pricing strategies to attract a whole new level of patrons."-- Provided by publisher.

"The revised and updated Fifth Edition of Winning Grants Step by Step continues to offer an accessible, step-by-step approach to the grant writing process. The authors--noted experts in the field--reveal how to create a well-written, well-organized, and concise proposal that has the potential to secure a solid income for nonprofit organizations and programs. Designed as a practical guide, the book gives grantseekers the ability to take an idea from inception to a completed proposal. Winning Grants Step by Step contains real-life examples, material samples, and worksheets. The authors also provide guidelines, suggestions, questions, and exercises that are helpful when addressing various types of funding sources. New to this edition is an expanded discussion of the importance of relationship building, social media, and online resources to successful nonprofit fundraising. The Fifth Edition also includes information on public funding, as well as guidance on budget development for both foundation and public funding grants." --Back cover.

On a Thursday in 2019, photographers and videographers in locations across the globe captured what goes on in the Disney empire. All the photos in the book were taken on that one day, beginning early in Tokyo and following the sun around the world through Shanghai, Hong Kong, Paris, Madrid, the Bahamas, Costa Rica, and dozens of places throughout the United States, ending in Hawaii. The photographs and text in this large volume cover actors, anchors, designers, hosts, artists, theme park employees, executives and more.

"Emerging leaders, early career professionals and small to medium sized organizations need to grow to achieve impact. Many of those entering the nonprofit field today are passionate people driven to make change but often they don't know where to start when it comes to running or working within an effective organization. Many are familiar with and knowledgeable of their cause, but don't know how to achieve impact in the complicated and challenging environments nonprofits operate in. In the 7 years since the first edition has published, so much has changed with regards to the nonprofit industry including laws, regulations, social movements, etc.. This update with address all of that and much more. Written by a number of top authorities in the nonprofit field (Darian Rodriguez Heyman, Beth Kanter, Bruce Hopkins, Tori O'Neal McElrath, etc.) this book gives a HUGE amount of insight and wisdom gleaned from years of experience from some of the top names in the field"-- Provided by publisher.

"Part real-world survival guide and part nitty-gritty how-to handbook, The Nonprofit Marketing Guide will show you how to hack through the bewildering jungle of marketing options and miles-long to-do lists to clear a marketing path that's right for you and your organization, no matter how understaffed or underfunded. You'll see how to shape a marketing program that starts from where you are now and grows with your organization, using smart and savvy techniques, both offline and online. The Nonprofit Marketing Guide boils down the best of today's nonprofit marketing theories into practical, cost-effective, can-do strategies and uncovers the street-tested tactics that you really can pull off on your own. You'll also find concrete tips on how to sit down and produce nearly two dozen specific marketing publications for your nonprofit and additional resources on the companion website. Over the last seven years, the author has done a significant amount of new research via their annual Nonprofit Communications Trends Reports, where 650 nonprofits take an extensive survey. This new data on the communications goals, strategies, objectives and tactics most often used in the nonprofit sector will be integrated throughout the revision."-- Provided by publisher.

"Very few [performing] artists are skilled at promoting themselves and their work. Drawing on the accomplishments of Shakespeare, Mozart, and several contemporary creatives, including Lin-Manuel Miranda and Wynton Marsalis, this engaging and practical guide will help you achieve artistic fulfillment, both personally and professionally--no matter your medium"-- Provided by publisher.

"In Running Theaters, management consultant and author Duncan M. Webb reveals the best practices that consistently lead to successful theater operations. Culled from surveys and interviews with theater managers and experts in crucial functional areas, this guide provides important tips for all people who work or want to work in regional, campus, and community-based theaters. Updated to reflect changes in the field, this second edition includes information on recent programming trends, marketing in the digital age, and the evolving role of theaters in economic and community development"-- Provided by publisher.

"A guide for strategic planning in the arts, based on the current ecology of arts organizations and the culture surrounding them."-- Provided by publisher.

"Every theatre is different - its programming particular, its space idiosyncratic and its place in the market distinctive. Thus the demands for the management of any theatre will be unique to that building's practical and artistic needs. The artistic director is at the helm of this delicate balancing act, weighing up the commercial and creative imperatives in a constant effort to maintain a successful producing house. The job can't be taught, necessarily, but there is a lot to be learned from those working in that role at some of the world's most important theatres. In The Art of the Artistic Director, Christopher Haydon (Artistic Director of the Gate, "London's most relentlessly ambitious theatre" - Time Out) compiles a unique set of interviews to get to the heart of what it is to occupy this most unique of roles. Providing short contextual essays outlining the importance and ambitions of each interviewee, the author interviews 20 of the most prominent and successful artistic directors in the US and UK including Oskar Eustis (Public Theater, New York), Diane Pulus (American Repertory Theatre, Boston), Rufus Norris (National Theatre, London) and Vicky Featherstone (Royal Court Theatre, London), uncovering the essential skills and talents that go into making an accomplished artistic director"-- Provided by publisher.

"Whether you are an experienced, established teacher who has been running a studio for a decade or a new teacher embarking on your first dance studio, this practical, helpful and insightful book is for you. Jam-packed with tips, tools, strategies and solutions, How to Run a Preschool Dance Studio reveals the insider secrets to running a successful, profitable and purpose driven studio. This 7 Step System shows you how to: - Create and understand your dance brand - Effectively and efficiently deliver marketing that hits the mark - Create, write and design your own original dance program - Recruit and inspire teachers and train them to be excellent - Build long lasting customer relationships - Learn about value vs price and unlock your premium price point - Streamline, strategize and successfully run a shipshape school by understanding systematization This practical, effective and useful book shows you how to accelerate your results with strategic yet creative plans and processes. Follow the first ever 7 Step System to Create, Grow and Expand your Preschool Dance Classes." - Amazon

Building Communities, Not Audiences: The Future of the Arts in the U.S , written and edited by Doug Borwick, holds that established arts organizations, for practical and moral reasons, need to be more deeply connected to their communities. It serves as an essential primer for any member of the arts community-artist, administrator, board member, patron, or friend-who is interested in the future of the arts in the U.S. It also provides new ways of looking at the arts as a powerful force for building better communities and improving lives. [For the companion "how to" book, see Engage Now! A Guide to Making the Arts Indispensable]

It's the small decisions that lead to big results. People were born to live a life of significance. But busyness and fear of failure can overwhelm and get in the way. One Small Yes was written for people who want to make an impact, but are not sure where to start.One Small Yes is for everyones' questions. What am I here for? What is my calling? Can I follow my calling without losing my family or my sanity? If what I see in my mind is possible, how on earth can I get it all done? Forget about complicated calendars or excessive goal setting exercises. Following your calling is about moving forward, one small yes decision at a time. No matter the size of your dream or the difference you feel called to make, your journey starts with One Small Yes.

Dance Studio Transformation is for studio owners who love dance, love teaching and love their students but feel like they need help when it comes to running a profitable business. This book will teach you how to become the CEO of your studio by walking you through strategies and tactics to transform each area of your business.

Dance Studio Secrets is your must-have collection of dance studio ownership journeys from owners all around the globe at different stages of their business. Pull back the curtains for an up close and personal look into how other studio owners are creating thriving businesses and fulfilling lives inside and outside of the studio, including: The best ways to fill your classes in your first year of business without spending a fortune ; How to navigate your growing team and evolving studio culture ; Planning for growth the right way (because more students doesn't always mean more money) ; Finding hidden revenue streams to boost your profit with minimal effort ; How to WOW your customers with an unparalleled dance studio experience. Be inspired by big business and life wins accomplished by these extraordinary industry leaders while learning about the path they took toward becoming the Go-To Studio in their local area. Whether you're a new studio owner or you've been on this journey for twenty years, Dance Studio Secrets will help you get to that next level.

Albert Poland, legendary Broadway and Off Broadway producer and general manager, presents Stages: A Theater Memoir. THE SHOWS: Little Shop of Horrors, The Grapes of Wrath, Long Day's Journey into Night, Glengarry Glen Ross, As Is, The Boy from Oz, Steel Magnolias, One Mo' Time, The Fantasticks, Picasso at the Lapin Agile, The Neon Woman, A Lie of the Mind, Let My People Come, Marry Me a Little, The Waverly Gallery and many others! THE STARS: Judy Garland, Bette Davis, Hugh Jackman, Vanessa Redgrave, Uta Hagen, Truman Capote, Sam Shepard, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Charles Busch, Charles Pierce, Yoko Ono, Mike Nichols, Arthur Miller, David Mamet, Tommy Tune, Liza Minnelli, Quentin Tarantino, Steve Martin, Lotte Lenya, Divine, and many more.