Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBook Guide: Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Library contains nearly 50 reference titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides in many disciplines. You can perform a simple one or two word search in the search box for entries containing the exact keywords specified, or you can browse the list of titles contained in the Gale Virtual Reference Library and select an entry from the book's table of contents.

Encyclopedia or dictionary entries can be read either in a text format (a slightly more structured, readable HTML version), or as a PDF (scanned pages from the print version of the encyclopedia).

Browse eBooks by Title

To browse the titles in the Gale Virtual Reference Library:

1. Click the More icon and select Title List. Select your desired title from the publication list.

To browse an individual title's entries and contents:

1. Select a desired title from the Title List (see above).

2. Many titles will provide the entire alphabetical list of entries on the item record page. If there is no clickable list of entries, select the Contents or the Table of Contents options.

   

Download an Entry to Your Computer

Although you cannot check-out an entire encyclopedia or dictionary, you can download encyclopedia or dictionary entries to read offline.

To download an entry:

1. Click Download

2. Select PDF. You will be prompted to open the PDF entry in Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click Ok. To save the PDF entry, select File and Save as... Save the PDF entry to your documents library. You will now be able to read the encyclopedia entry offline.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Jodi Hilleshiem
Contact:
Todd Wehr Memorial Library
815 Viterbo Court
La Crosse, WI 54601
608-796-3278