LibGuides: English Composition: ENGL 103

Books in the Library

Searching for books begins at the library's catalog. Here are a few popular choices:

Reason in a Dark Time by Dale Jamieson
ISBN: 9780199337668
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
How College Works by Daniel F. Chambliss
ISBN: 9780674726093
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Cop Culture by L. Scott Silverii
Call Number: HV 8141 .C67 S54 2014
ISBN: 9781482221046
Publication Date: 2014-02-07

Searching for Newspaper, Magazine, and Journal Articles

Databases are great places to find articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. If you need a reminder on how to request an article or book, please click on the "How Do I...?" tab.

For more database selections, visit the library's list of databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary mostly full-text database. Its thousands of articles include many from peer-reviewed journals.
Credo Reference
Full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects.
Gale eBooks
Platform for electronic reference books. Titles are added as they are purchased.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Newspaper Source Plus
Over 1,500 full-text newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Over 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, 5,000 topic overviews, 5 million periodical articles, nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs, and thousands of podcasts on today's most contentious social issues.

English and Literature Databases

Searching for scholarly resources often involves using "limiters" in databases. Keep in mind, you may choose "scholarly (peer-reviewed)" in most databases. Below are some of the more popular choices when researching literature. Scroll down for other options.

For more database selections, visit the library's list of databases.

Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
Literary analysis of major authors, periods, genres, and literary works, written by experts.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Books, journals, and essays covering biographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works.
Humanities International Complete
Journals, books, and other published sources with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of journal issues as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. NOT CURRENT; there is a 1- to 5-year gap between the newest journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Literary Reference Source
A full-text database that combines information from major respected literary reference books/works, literary journals and magazines, contemporary titles, plus 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos.

Guides

Chat with Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Contact Us

Reach us at Viterbo Library by phone, email, or chat.

Main Desk: 608-796-3269
Reference Email: reference@viterbo.edu

Library Website: http://www.viterbo.edu/library