Accessing the Library from Home: Using Viterbo's Library

Reach us at the Viterbo Library by phone, email or chat.

Main Desk: 608-796-3269

Main Desk Email: library2@viterbo.edu
Reference Email: reference@viterbo.edu

Feeling a little lost? Check this list of frequently asked questions to see if you can find your way. If you don't find an answer here, contact a librarian.

Use the Library's Catalog to search for materials.  Remember, ebooks, evideos, and articles are all available off-campus.  

• Library catalog:  https://www.viterbo.edu/library

Start with a Subject Guide that will recommend various resources available for you to use.

• Subject Guides & Tutorials:  http://libguides.viterbo.edu/?b=s

Use a Database to search for scholarly resources, including journal articles.  These are available from the library's homepage.  Click on "Research", and then "Databases".

• Databases:  https://www.viterbo.edu/library/databases

Try Credo to gather background information from encyclopedias and dictionaries.  This is helpful to find basic statistics, facts, and overviews.  Credo is available from the library's homepage.  Click on "Research", and then "Databases".  

• Credo:  https://search.credoreference.com/

Access over 68,000 videos in the Academic Video Online collection.  All of these videos are searchable from the library's catalog.  You may also access this collection from the library's homepage.  Click on "Research", and then "Databases".  

• Academic Video Online:  https://video.alexanderstreet.com/channel/academic-video-online
• In addition, if the library is open, faculty may request videos owned by the library to be streamed by filling out the Streaming Media Request form at https://viterbo.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_9EkKSyhRzhRgPkx

Search the Viterbo University Archives, study student research projects, and access the entire student newspaper online.  You may access this collection from the library's homepage.  Click on "Archives".  

• Viterbo Digital Collections:  https://viterbo.contentdm.oclc.org/

Are you having trouble accessing the library's databases?  Here are some things to try:

• Make sure you are using your Viterbo Account username and password (for information on changing your password see https://viterbo.revelationhelpdesk.com/Default.aspx).
• Try using a different browser, such as Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer.
• Try logging into a different library database; for example, if you are having trouble logging into Academic Search Complete, try a different database, such as JSTOR.  If you can log in to JSTOR, it could be that Academic Search Complete is temporarily down for maintenance.
• You may want to clear your browser history, cache, and cookies.
• Make sure you are logging into the database through the library's page.
• Are there security systems or a firewall that could be blocking access?  Many workplaces and schools have firewalls in place that could block the library's site.

If you are still having access issues, please email the library at reference@viterbo.edu, or IIT at helpdesk@viterbo.edu.  

Special Notice Regarding Modified Classes due to COVID-19

• The library is currently open to Viterbo students, faculty, staff, and visitors.
• In-person pickup of library materials and equipment has resumed.  If you do not live nearby or do not feel safe leaving your home, we can scan articles and book chapters or send physical items (with the exception of equipment) via U.S. mail. 
• Library equipment must be picked up and returned in person.
• Interlibrary loan is functioning, but please note that not all libraries are operating in the same capacity.  Physical loans may be delayed or denied depending on each library's situation.  Articles and scanned copies of book chapters are still the most reliable requests for interlibrary loan.  
• If you cannot access database articles, please submit an interlibrary loan request or email the main desk at library2@viterbo.edu. We are happy to send you a PDF of the material you need.
• You can renew materials by contacting the library at library2@viterbo.edu.